Empiricists and Rationalists Are More Superstitious Than I Am


The basic tenant of humanism is the same as the basic tenant of Satanism-it puts man in the center.  Man decides what is good, what is best for himself, what matters, what works, and what he wants.  Man is the final rule and authority over himself.  He is the existential norm, the ethical norm, and the starting point for all knowledge of himself and his world.

Scientific Positivism/Empiricism:

In many ways, any attempt by modern man to define intellectual truth as a case against religion has only resulted in producing another religion–a religion of science, nature, and experimentation.  Any attempt to define God in empirical terms has produced in his place a religion of experience.  The object of worship becomes the creation and not the Originator or First Cause that created it.  “Scientific faith” is centered on the experimental and experiencing self first and the object of that exam, second.  Faith in experience alone is more superstitious and deceitful than acknowledging the thing that created the experience.

An empiricist cannot speak about the nature of God because the nature of God is hidden from human experience until one admits that he cannot trust his experiences alone (or exclusively) to be valid.  That individual is worse than the man with a brain tumor telling the surgeon how to kill the tumor.  He is a man who pretends that there is no such thing as a tumor in his brain because he cannot find the cause of it.

Rationalism:

A religion of rationalism can offer a great deal to our understanding of metaphysics, but only after it is submitted to He who makes reason reasonable.  Whether or not a God exists is above reason-it is the place where reason starts-it is the norm that makes reason possible. This human-first thinking is not submitted to an absolute, but an autonomous and subjective thinking individual.  This is more than irrational, it is the most arrogant position a mortal can take on metaphysics.

For a Cartesian, not only is the passenger telling the pilot how to fly the plane, he is pretending that he himself is that pilot.  “Nothing exists unless I can know it logically” + “I only know myself,” therefore, “I alone can fly this plane.” (also autonomy).

1) I am free, powerful, and limitless, and I did it all by myself. 2) Because I am free, I can go wherever I wish.

Satanism:

Most modernists don’t know that their faith is in line with Satanism. Satanism does not substitute the worship of God for that of Satan-only that of the self.  Satanism and modernism are synonymous.  From Wiki:

LaVeyan Satanism is a religion founded in 1966 by Anton Szandor LaVey. Its teachings are based on individualism, self-indulgence, and “eye for an eye” morality. Unlike Theistic Satanists, LaVeyan Satanists are atheists and agnostics who regard Satan as a symbol of man’s inherent nature. According to religioustolerance.org, LaVeyan Satanism is a “small religious group that is unrelated to any other faith, and whose members feel free to satisfy their urges responsibly, exhibit kindness to their friends, and attack their enemies”. Its beliefs were first detailed in The Satanic Bible and it is overseen by the Church of Satan.

Essentially, the modernist mind says this: Although I am in no way responsible for where I came from, nor am I able to contribute to my improvement, I will not submit to any power outside of the thinking and feeling self. Although there is order which implies meaning, and meaning implies ethics, and ethics implies accountability to something outside myself, I am going to pretend that none of this is true. Instead, I am not accountable to anyone or anything other than myself. I will do that which I believe is right to me. It is my self-religion.

