Just before Anakin surrenders to the dark side (depicted in the video clip), a fascinating conversation takes place between he and Senator Palpatine. If you know anything about grace, modernism, and gnosticism, you too will find this fascinating:

Palpatine: Let me help you to know the subtleties of the force

Anakin: How do you know the ways of the force?

P: My mentor told me everything about the force-even the nature of the dark side

A: You know the dark side?

P: Anakin, if one is to understand the great mystery, one must study all its aspects, not just the dogmatic, narrow view of the Jedi.  If you wish to become a complete and wise leader, you must embrace a larger view of the force.  Be careful of the Jedi, Anakin.  Only through me can you achieve a power greater than any Jedi.  Learn to know the dark side of the force and you will be able to save your wife from certain death.

A: What did you say?

P: Use my knowledge, I beg you.

A: You’re the Sith Lord.

P: I know what’s been troubling you.  Listen to me.  Don’t continue to be a pawn of the Jedi council.  Every since I’ve known you, you’ve been searching for a life greater than that of an ordinary Jedi-a life of significance; of conscience . . . Are you going to kill me?

A: I would certainly like to.

P: I know you would.  I can feel your anger.  It gives you focus-makes you stronger.

A: I’m going to turn you over to the Jedi council.

P: Of course, you should.  But you’re not sure of their intentions, are you?

A: I will quickly discover the truth of all this.

P: You have great wisdom, Anakin.  Know the power of the dark side-the power to save Padme.

ff to the scene after he kneels before and submits to Palpatine:

A: What about the other Jedi spread out across the galaxy?

P: Their betrayal will be dealt with.  After you have killed all the Jedi in the Temple . . . wipe out the other separatist leaders.  Once more the Sith will rule the galaxy and we shall have peace.

Read my response here.

