In so many ways, we only enter into the discipline of apologetics to teach and to be heard. It is because we are invested in the worldview that we are defending, that we prepare to exhort–to “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks [us] to give the reason for the hope that [we] have” (I Pet. 3:15).

If I am honest, I seldom care what my subjective neighbor has to say about empirical or existential faith. To be fair, my neighbor doesn’t really want to know what it is that I subjectively place my hope in–nor why. More likely than not, he has spotted something that he can easily diagnose. He’s likely going to be writing my prescription while I’m still talking. I may then become his project, and for the rest of our conversation(s), he wants to enlighten me to greater truth. Likewise, I am only interested in what he thinks in order that I might change it. This is the arrogant and naive position taken by both of us.

This brings me back to my opening statement: A defense is pointless. My friends don’t require it. My enemies won’t believe me anyway.

All of that said, I would have to admit that some individuals do have far more patience, intellect, and humility than I do. Dr. Frame is the most unapologetic apologist that I know. He has been given the ability to jovially defend a Christian theism while at the same time kick the feet out from under his unbelieving challengers. While doing so, he is the first to claim no ability of his own. For Frame, it is alone the work of God’s Spirit which makes an impact on the hearer, gives meaning, and offers the life-giving message of the hope that he possesses–we are merely charged to proclaim Him.

Jesus said, “When the Counselor comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who goes out from the Father, he will testify about me. And you also must testify, for you have been with me from the beginning” (Jn 15:26-27).

