My friend is experiencing a divorce after 10 years of marriage and three children.

While decorating the house and tree, it seems mandatory that you play some Christmas music. I selected Pandora radio and about 8 songs later, came this bit from Over The Rhine:

Part of the lyric says, “When you play my song, play it slowly, play it like I’m sad and lonely . . . White lights on the Christmas tree, thank God you are here with me, All I ever get for Christmas is blue.”

This post is a continuation of part I.

The sense of being unhappy is entirely biblical and only biblical Christianity can offer the answer.


My key passage is here:

For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the sons of God. For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of him who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be set free from its bondage to corruption and obtain the freedom of the glory of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved (Rom. 8:19-24).

Here, the Apostle Paul describes a wholeness that is both “now” taking place and which has “not yet” fully taken place: “So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin” (Rom 7).

In our mind, reason, thinking, and knowledge, here again, Paul describes the way in which we are “now” complete, but “not yet” complete. “For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known” (I Cor. 13:12).

There is, by God’s gift and grace, a way in which we may participate in His kingdom, knowledge, and celebrate His presence now. However, the full revelation of His grace, knowledge of truth, and his presence is still yet to take place. In our hearts and in our kingdoms here, we can experience now only a taste of what will soon be perfect. This is the “now and not yet” human experience.

Due to our willful, culpable separation from God’s favor and presence, we have been subjected to darkness and futility. In fact, even the inanimate objects have been frustrated.

Be certain, believers in Christ, Christmas is sad, and yet at the same time, Christmas itself is the very cure for all sadness. It is sad because it was our sin that brought the Messiah. It was the coming of the Messiah that brings us perfect completeness — complete and eternal substance, significance, meaning, wholeness, and yes, even happiness!

Merry Christmas! Come again Emmanuel!

